Sunday, November 30, 2008

Alli and I are engaged!!!!!!

Well, Alli and I have finally made it official. Today, I proposed to her. It was perfect! She had finished reading the Book of Mormon, something she wanted to do before we were engaged. She also wanted to come over and read our patriarchal blessings together. So she came over and we did and they fit together so perfectly. It was like we were reading our own. My heart was beating frantically and she had no idea why. So then I asked her if she wanted to finish watching the Emma Smith movie since we didn't a long time ago. She started talking when the movie started and I had to tell her to look at the t.v. It said (To the music Thunder by Boys like girls) "Alli, I love you! I have been needing to ask you something, but I thought we could relive the memories." Then began a long slide show of pictures of us played to the above mentioned song and also "The Shape of my heart" by Backstreet Boys (I know, Backstreet boys. I dont like them but the song worked.) It ended with a picture of Alli holding a bouquete of flowers and it said "I know you have had something on your mind..." then it cut to a picture of me holding the ring "Does it look like this?" I then got on my knee and proposed and we cried and kissed and got a mass load of texts from everyone so that is why I am writing this blog so I dont have to text this all out. But it was such a great moment and everything turned out so perfectly. I don't think I have ever felt happier in my life until I got on my knee and she said yes. I love Alli so much and am so grateful for having her in my life.  So there it is!

Sunday, September 14, 2008

Olga and The Cockroach

Hello everyone. I have not written on this in a long time and not alot has happened. I started school and thats been fun and interesting. Don't get me started on it though. I guess I have two things kind of funny I want to blog about. First is about the name Olga. This lady came in to my work the other day and said her name was Olga. Now she was a nice lady and I am in no way, shape or form dissing her at all. But my question is, what the heck kind of name is Olga? It is such an ugly name. When I hear it, it sounds like a grunt an animal makes during mating season. What person ever thought that name was nice sounding? I don't know, I just had to write about it. I hope no one who reads this is named Olga or has a relative named Olga.

The other thing I wanted to talk about was the cockroach. The other night, I fell asleep on the couch to Seinfeld. I woke up around 12:30 and got ready for bed. I knelt down for a quick prayer and then pulled myself in to bed. After about 5 minutes of drifting off, I hear this scratching sound. I thought it was my dog upstairs locked in a bedroom. I gradually woke up and realized it was not my dog, but something in my room. So i turned the light on and looked to the ground to see a cockroach about an inch 1/2 long and an inch fat. He was huge! So i quickly grabbed my shoe and hit him in which he ran in to my closet. So i was like, crap, so much for going to sleep. So I waited for it to come out. It did and so I grabbed a can of wheat that was sitting in my room (I dont know why it was there, it just was). So i tried to hit it with that. I did, multiple times, to which it basically shook off the beating and ran behind my night stand. So i wiggle and jiggle it till it comes back out and start hitting it again to which it again shook it off and ran under my bed. So I grabbed a hanger and started hitting under my bed, hoping it would come out. It didnt. So I stopped and patiently waited for it to come back out. It did, and so i started smacking it with my very thick hanger. Still didnt die and went back under the bed. Now, I have never seen a cockroach be able to do what that did. With all the beatings I gave him, it could still run a marathon. After about 15 minutes of doing this, I finally got him to a corner where I finally did damage and tried to smash him in to my carpet. He still didnt die, so I tried harder and harder until he finally gave up. It took me 20 minutes to kill a little stupid cockroach. As I look back to when I prayed, I told Heavenly Father that I was thankful for all my stuff and was really tired and wanted to go to bed, so I would talk to Him later. So I think this was His way of humoring himself. I did not want to go back to bed in my room and was not able to sleep the rest of the night. The moral of the story is, if your tired, don't give that as an excuse to having a heartfelt prayer with Heavenly Father, or He will send a little annoyance to you to get you back on your knees. 

The other thing I learned is that the saying that a cockroach could live thru a nuclear war is true. Those stupid things NEVER DIE!!!!!

Friday, August 22, 2008

Thoughts on USA Basketballs win over Argentina

story.jpg

Well that was a fun game to watch live on the internet. I was only able to catch the second half and it looks like I caught the better one. But it is quite interesting to watch it without commentators. It's like watching the game in the game outside the game. I kinda feel like a human looking into a fish tank. Speaking of fish, that is what I am eating right now. 

The game was pretty fun to watch especially since I didnt have to see Manu(er) Ginobli play. I do wish I could have seen him get hurt, but I guess I can catch those highlights later on Youtube. It was fun because i finally got to watch my country play live instead of watching highlights AFTER i know they have already won. Some interesting things I noticed. The whole Argentina team looked like a bunch of Biker dudes that just got out of a bar. The only decent looking player would be my arch enemy which is Manu Ginobli, which is saying alot. But one guy in particular, Roman Gonzales is this really tall fat guy with a handlebar mustache. Who let this guy on their team? he was absolutely horrible! The only thing he was good at was letting Team USA get to the free throw line, which they didnt shoot well from. I guess i cant complain about the looks of their team because Chris Bosh looks like he should be racing on a bob sled team. 

Some things I did not like seeing: One was watching Team USA let ARG catch up by at least 12 points and then decide to play again to be up by 20. Then they would let them catch back up and then go right back up. If Team USA played them up like they did on those little runs, and made their free throws, this game would have been a blow out. But then again, if it was a blow out, this game would not have been fun to watch.

The things I liked were the athlethisism of this team. They can run, they can jump, and they can pulverize you in ever direction. Watching Dwane Wade do a spin move and jump so high to dunk it on someone was something I wouldnt expect him to do, but he did. I enjoyed seeing Lebron come out hot in the second half to score 13 of his 15 points. He wanted this game bad and you can tell he is the leader of this team. Because of him, the team also came out hot and that made the difference. 

So all in all, Team USA will win the gold. Even after playing a crappy game like today and still winning by a good amount, the US will handle Greece easily. 

oly_g_team-usa_580.jpg

Saturday, July 26, 2008

Random Thoughts

Well, I have not written on this for almost a month now. I don't really know what to write. I guess I can update on what I have been up to. Pretty much working and filming a movie. Working is going alright. It has been very very slow, so I don't get many hours. The film I am working on is called The Jamba Globetrotters 2. It is basically a reunion and try-outs for the new Globetrotters. It's going well so far. Life has been getting more and more busy though with work and other things. I really miss the Mission life where all I worry about is other people and focusing on the Lord. It is so hard now to grasp what I once had, to live that Celestial law. It seems I have fallen back into what I once was before and it's something that bothers me. It is getting harder and harder to find time to feast in the scriptures. I still read them every day, but its not the feast I used to have, mostly because my focus isn't on that any more. It's something I want back really bad. My dating life is pretty much stale. I still haven't come out of my missionary shell. Man it's hard to just go up to a girl and talk to them. Oh well. But on a happier note, I am so dang excited for the Suns season to start. Holy crap its like being excited for Christmas. I have been watching highlights of them on youtube (I thank my Heavenly Father for this great invention) and catching up on what I missed. Dang they are fun to watch and I cant wait for them to come back this next season all revamped and ready to win a championship. I'm kinda glad they didnt win it while I was gone. Now they can move on and win it. I have seen many movies lately. I of course saw Batman and thought it was amazing. I still think Iron Man is the best movie of the summer, but that was the best Batman yet. Heath Ledger does deserve an oscar for that, even though he is dead. Just take it to him to his grave. I also had the wonderful priviledge of seeing Mamma Mia. Holy crap that was so not cool. I had no idea it was a musical and in the beginning I was being dazed by the beauty of the girl in the movie and then all of a sudden she just pops out and starts singing about her 3 possible dads. I just about threw up when that happened. But it was fun to be with my friends and to chillax with them. Well, in short, life is great. Till next time.

Sunday, July 6, 2008

California Trip

So this past week, I spent my time driving to California with my family for our summer trip. It was a blast. We left early Thursday morning and went straight to the beach. It was quite disturbing though at first because people just change outside their cars. Since I am not that type of person to do that, I found a bathroom to change in. Anyways, it was over cast and the ocean was quite chilly, but after about 2 minutes, you get used to it. I was dumb and didnt put sun screen on, even though my mom told me at least 20 times. So I am suffering the consequenses now. WE were there for about 4 hours and then went to the hotel. It was so nice. We had a free dinner and free breakfast there which was great. The next day, we got up and went to Sea World for 12 hours! It was so much fun but I was so exhausted. I really liked watching the shows. It is amazing at what these animals can do. How in the world are they trained to do that is my question. We watched the fireworks from there and then took off. Well, not really took off because we spent an hour and a half stalled in traffic. It was so crowded. But we got to my aunts house at 2:30 in the morning and I got hardly any sleep...mostly because of my sun burn. We woke up saturday morning and planned out our day. We went to Rodeo Drive, Hollywood and then to see the play Wicked which was very entertaining. But I want to go back to what I thought of Rodeo Drive and Hollywood. There were some cool places to see there. On Rodeo Drive, every other car was a BMW, Mercedes, Lexus, Porche, Lamborgenie, and Rolls Royces. Quite extravagent. But, the prices for these clothes were outragious! I mean, $750 for a pair of jeans. Not $7.50, but SEVEN HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS!!!!! There were some places that just didnt have a tag for a price so they can just screw you over. I just don't see a need to pay that much for a pair of jeans. I'm quite happy with my 2 for $20 shorts from Old Navy. Hollywood was really fun to see. There were alot of cool places like the Kodak theater, the Old Chinese Theater with the stars handprints and things, and lots of stores. But, all in all, it was just a bunch of fluff. It may be fun to see these cool things, but in reality, it is just fluff. The whole time I kept thinking about the tree of life story in first nephi. This is the large and spacious building that both Lehi and Nephi saw. Thousands upon thousands of people flock to these places to try and meet the stars or they are just obsessed and think they are so much better because they saw such and such in Hollywood. But there is no true happiness there. Sure there were some cool stores, but then there were the ones that advertised things about sex and drugs, something that is abominable to the Lord. My guess is Hollywood and Rodeo Drive are on the Lord's top ten list of places to burn at the second coming. Another thing I had a problem with was girls dressing immodestly. Like holy crap girls, but some dang clothes on. I know its hot, but you dont see me flashing my chest around because it is hot. If these girls knew what went thru a guys head, or even a 40 year old guys head, I think they would change their minds on wearing such sleazy slutty clothes. Anyways, I need to get off this rant box. The play Wicked was great. I had never really seen the Wizard of Oz before, so I was very lost in the beginning of the play, but I soon caught on and enjoyed it. This morning, we left for home and we arrived safely. It is nice to be home, but dang its hot here!

Sunday, June 29, 2008

Hey everyone, this is my first time blogging. I have no idea what this is all about, so I thought I would try it out. I will treat it I guess like a journal. My life can be somewhat funny yet somewhat stressed. I just got home from my mission 2 months ago and time is flying. I feel like I was just thrown back into an old life with new qualities I have developed in a day and Im supposed to figure out how to live a normal life again. It is quite a tough transition from being a missionary to a normal person again. I would rather be preaching the gospel right now more than anything, but I can't change that. But life is good and I am happy to be home with my family. They are my joy in my life. Right now, I'm trying to figure out how to talk to girls. I thought that since I was able to talk to pretty much anyone on the mission, I would be able to talk to girls and ask them out on a date. People would tell us on the mission that they think missionaries are super men. I guess I found my kryptonite. Hopefully I'm not one that gets kicked out of singles ward because I can't find a companion. But I'm sure I will. This past week, I went to the Phoenix Suns Draft party and it was alot of fun. I can't wait for the season to start. It is to far away and it seems like years since I have seen them. Oh wait, it has. I very much love basketball and my desire is to have my wife like the same thing. I don't want to do any converting over to the suns. That is a requirement, besides a testimony of the Gospel and a knowledge of the scriptures and of course being attactive. Besides all that, she HAS to be a Suns fan. Anyways, this thing is getting to girly so I will end it now. Adios muchachos!